Demise
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeGalleryLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

Where there is darkness...so too must light exist

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Creep
Creep

Where there is darkness...so too must light exist Empty
PostSubject: Where there is darkness...so too must light exist   Where there is darkness...so too must light exist I_icon_minitimeSat May 22, 2010 9:19 am

Periods of travail often coincide with periods of re-awakening. I like the hope that I see in this one. Read on.

Quote :
Saturday, May 22, 2010
Sal, what is it like in the dark?
Oh, when it gets dark in my nogg'n on stormy nights into a third scotch ... it gets dark.

Study too much economics and history ... and you start to think like Derb.
So what am I anticipating, with all this gloomery? a reader wants to know. Another1973? Another 1929? Another A.D. 410?

Hey, I’m not an expert. I just try to keep up with the experts — the gloomy ones, of course. (No offense, Larry.)

From what I read and am told, as best I can understand it, the developed world will be much poorer, grubbier, and meaner four or five years from now, its currencies ravaged by competitive inflation, its government services greatly reduced, entitlements meager.

The rest — what will follow; what the consequences for social order will be; what the consequences for international order will be; and what the path from here to there will actually look like — is guesswork. My guesses:

● What will follow? A long period of stagnation, life depressing & uncomfortable for most of us in the West (and made more so by nostalgia for the carefree, prosperous years), but not down at Dark Age standards.